Another Kavafis Κεριά – Candles

As I’m on a roll… First, this is not a great poem. The theme is a bit trite and the visuals predictable. Yeah, we’re all getting older. Never mind, you see a virtuoso doing finger exercises brilliantly….

Κεριά

Του μέλλοντος η μέρες στέκοντ’ εμπροστά μας
σα μια σειρά κεράκια αναμένα —
χρυσά, ζεστά, και ζωηρά κεράκια.

Η περασμένες μέρες πίσω μένουν,
μια θλιβερή γραμμή κεριών σβυσμένων·
τα πιο κοντά βγάζουν καπνόν ακόμη,
κρύα κεριά, λυωμένα, και κυρτά.

Δεν θέλω να τα βλέπω· με λυπεί η μορφή των,
και με λυπεί το πρώτο φως των να θυμούμαι.
Εμπρός κυττάζω τ’ αναμένα μου κεριά.

Δεν θέλω να γυρίσω να μη διω και φρίξω
τι γρήγορα που η σκοτεινή γραμμή μακραίνει,
τι γρήγορα που τα σβυστά κεριά πληθαίνουν.

Candles

Future days are facing us
Like a row of lit-up candles waiting
Golden, warm and living candles

Days gone by gather behind
In a sad line of snuffed out lights
The closest, still trailing some smoke
Cold candles, melted and bent.

I don’t want to see them, I’m saddened by their shape
And I miss when they were first lit, and remember.
I keep looking at my lighted candles

I won’t look back. I might see, terrified,
How quickly the dark line lengthens
How quickly the number of candles increase

Leave a comment